SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Translators Social with Laura Watkinson

Date/Time
Date(s) - 02/11/2022
11:30 am - 12:30 pm

Category(ies)

No Categories


A Zoom social for translator members of SCBWI is scheduled for Friday, February 11, 2022, at 11:30 am-12:30 pm Pacific / 2:30 pm-3:30 pm Eastern / 8:30 pm-9:30 pm Central European Time.

This is a pre-conference event for Winter Conference 2022, but conference registration is not required to participate. Please join us!

Our special guest will be Laura Watkinson, translator of three winners of the ALSC Batchelder Award and the first translated book ever nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Medal. Join us to ask Laura questions, mix and mingle!

Registration link: https://scbwi.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJwocu-uqjksE9UfCLej7IBs2_YtwQ_DfA67

Inquiries: tc [at] scbwi.org

More about Laura: Laura Watkinson loves reading and translating children’s and YA books. She has translated all kinds of books for younger readers, from picture books to YA thrillers, and has worked with publishers all over the world. Two of her career highlights: going to see the filming for the Netflix series of The Letter for the King by Tonke Dragt, which she translated for Pushkin Press, and the shortlisting of her translation of Annet Schaap’s Lampie (also Pushkin Press) for the Carnegie Medal, as the first translated book to be nominated for the award since it was established in 1936. Three of her translated books have won the Mildred L. Batchelder Award: Bibi Dumon Tak’s Mikis and the Donkey and Soldier Bear (Eerdmans) and Truus Matti’s Mister Orange (Enchanted Lion). She founded the Dutch chapter of the SCBWI and is a long-term member of the society. Laura lives in a tall, thin house on a canal in Amsterdam with her husband, her cat, and lots of shelves of lovely books.